Checkout now defaults to last used payment method for signed-in customers
Checkout now remembers a signed-in customer's last-used payment method and pre-selects it on future purchases.
Shopify announced Checkout now defaults to last used payment method for signed-in customers on August 21, 2026.
What changed
Checkout now remembers a signed-in customer's last-used payment method and pre-selects it on future purchases. This feature is only enabled for checkout flows where saved payment methods are enabled on D2C and B2B.
Shopify
Build and run an online store — e-commerce platform with themes, payments, inventory, and AI tools for creators selling products.
View Shopify →